
 
  

   
  

 

                 

 

  
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

  

    
 

  
 

   
 
 

   

 
 

  
 
 

  
  

   
 

   
 

  
 
 

  
  

  
      

 
 

Military Spouse License Transfer Options 
dol.gov/license-recognition 

LOUISIANA 

STATUTORY SUMMARY: 

State agencies shall, pending normal licensure, issue licenses to military spouses 
who are licensed for at least one year in another state in good standing, so long as 
the military spouse does not have a disqualifying criminal history. The military 
spouse must have met the minimum experience and education requirements and 
passed any required examination in the previous state. If the military spouse is 
coming from a state that does not provide licensing for the occupation in question 
but Louisiana does require such licensing, state agencies shall grant a license to 
the military spouse so long as they have at least 3 years of work experience without 
any issues. If the military spouse is coming from a state that does not provide 
licensing for the occupation in question but does offer a private certification, but 
Louisiana requires state licensing, state agencies shall grant a license to the military 
spouse so long as they have at least 2 years of work experience without any issues, 
and they hold a current and valid private certification in the occupation. In all cases, 
the military spouse must pay all required fees, and must simultaneously apply for 
a permanent license. Military spouses may be required to pass examinations 
specific to the relevant state laws that regulate the occupation if the same is 
standardly required. State agencies shall provide military spouses with a written 
decision regarding licensing within 30 days of receiving a completed application. 

RELEVANT LAW: 

LSA-R.S. 37:3651. Licensure for individuals with military training and experience; licensure 
by endorsement for military spouses and dependents 

A. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, a professional or occupational 
licensing board shall issue a license, certification, permit pending normal license, or 
registration to a member of the military, including United States Department of Defense 
civilian employees who have been assigned to duty in Louisiana, or an applicant who is 
married to or is a dependent of a member of the military or a United States Department of 
Defense civilian employee, if the member or United States Department of Defense civilian 
receives military orders for a change of station to a military installation or assignment 
located in this state or if the member or United States Department of Defense civilian has 
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established this state as his state of legal residence as reflected in the member’s or United 
States Department of Defense civilian’s military record if, upon application to the board, 
the applicant satisfies all of the following conditions: 

(1) The applicant holds a current and valid occupational license in another state in an 
occupation with a similar scope of practice, as determined by the board in this state. 

(2) The applicant has held the occupational license in the other state for at least one 
year. 

(3) The applicant has passed any examinations, or met any education, training, or 
experience standards as required by the board in the other state. 

(4) The applicant is held in good standing by the board in the other state. 

(5) The applicant does not have a disqualifying criminal record as determined by the 
board in this state under the laws of this state. 

(6) The applicant has not had an occupational license revoked by a board in another 
state because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to the applicant’s 
work in the occupation. 

(7) The applicant did not surrender an occupational license because of negligence or 
intentional misconduct related to the person’s work in the occupation in another 
state. 

(8) The applicant does not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending before 
a board in another state which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime. 
If the applicant has a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending, the board in 
this state shall not issue or deny an occupational license to the applicant until the 
complaint, allegation, or investigation is resolved, or the applicant otherwise 
satisfies the criteria for licensure in this state to the satisfaction of the board in this 
state. 

(9) The applicant pays all applicable fees in this state. 

(10) The applicant simultaneously applies for a permanent license; if the applicant fails 
to qualify for a permanent license as determined by the occupational or licensing 
board once the permanent application is vetted, the permit automatically terminates. 

B. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a professional or occupational licensing board 
shall issue an occupational license, permit pending normal license, or government 
certification to an applicant who is a member of the military, or an applicant who is married 
to or is a dependent of a member of the military or United States Department of Defense 
civilian employee who has been assigned duty in Louisiana, upon application based on 
work experience in another state, if all of the following apply: 
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(1) The applicant worked in a state that does not use an occupational license or 
government certification to regulate a lawful occupation, but this state uses an 
occupational license or government certification to regulate a lawful occupation 
with a similar scope of practice, as determined by the board in this state. 

(2) The applicant worked for at least three years in the lawful occupation. 

(3) The applicant satisfies the requirements of Paragraphs (A)(6) through (10) of this 
Section. 

C. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a professional or occupational licensing board 
shall issue an occupational license, permit pending normal license, or government 
certification to an applicant who is a member of the military or a United States Department 
of Defense civilian employee who has been assigned duty in Louisiana, or an applicant 
who is married to or is a dependent of a member of the military or a United States 
Department of Defense civilian employee, based on holding a private certification and 
work experience in another state, if all of the following apply: 

(1) The applicant worked in a state that does not use an occupational license or 
government certification to regulate a lawful occupation, but this state uses an 
occupational license or government certification to regulate a lawful occupation 
with a similar scope of practice, as determined by the board in this state. 

(2) The applicant worked for at least two years in the lawful occupation. 

(3) The applicant holds a current and valid private certification in the lawful 
occupation. 

(4) The private certification organization holds the applicant in good standing. 

(5) The applicant satisfies the requirements of Paragraphs (A)(6) through (10) of this 
Section. 

D. Notwithstanding any other law, the education, training, or experience requirements for an 
occupational license issued pursuant to this Title are completely or partially satisfied, as 
determined by the regulating occupational licensing board on presentation of satisfactory 
evidence that the applicant received comparable education, training, or experience as a 
member of the United States armed forces or any national guard or other reserve 
component. 

E. The board may require a person to pass a jurisprudential examination specific to relevant 
state laws that regulate the occupation if an occupational license or government 
certification in this state requires a person to pass a jurisprudential examination specific to 
relevant state statutes and administrative rules that regulate the occupation. 
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F. The board will provide the applicant with a written decision regarding the application for 
an occupational license within thirty calendar days after receiving an application. 

G. 

(1) The applicant may appeal any of the following decisions made by the board, in a 
court of general jurisdiction: 

(a) Denial of an occupational license. 

(b) Determination of the occupation. 

(c) Determination of the similarity of the scope of practice of the occupational 
license issued. 

(d) Any other determinations made pursuant to this Section. 

(2) The court shall determine all questions of law, including the interpretation of a 
constitutional or statutory provision or a rule adopted by a board, without regard to 
any previous determination that may have been made on the question in any action 
before the board. 

H. A person who obtains a permit pending normal license, occupational license, or 
government certification pursuant to this Section is subject to all of the following: 

(1) The laws regulating the occupation in this state. 

(2) The jurisdiction of the board in this state. 

I. This Section does not apply to an occupation regulated by the state supreme court. 

J. This Section preempts laws by township, municipal, county and other governments in the 
state which regulate occupational licenses and government certification. 

K. A professional or occupational licensing board shall adopt rules in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act necessary to implement the provisions of this Section. 

L. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to prohibit a military-trained applicant or military 
spouse or spouse of a United States Department of Defense civilian employee who has 
been assigned to duty in Louisiana from proceeding under the existing licensure, 
certification, or registration requirements established by a professional or occupational 
licensing board in this state. 

M. For the purposes of this Section, “professional or occupational licensing board” shall mean 
any state agency, board, commission, or substantially similar entity, involved in the 
licensing, certification, or registration of any regulated profession or occupation within this 
state. 
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N. For the purposes of this Section, “military” means the armed forces or reserves of the 
United States, including the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, Air Force, and the 
reserve components thereof, the National Guard of any state, the Military Reserves of any 
state, or the naval militia of any state. 

O. For the purposes of this Section, “dependent” means a resident spouse or resident 
unmarried child under the age of twenty-one years, a child who is a student under the age 
of twenty-four years and who is financially dependent upon the parent, or a child of any 
age who is disabled and dependent upon the parent. 

P. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to any applicant receiving a dishonorable 
discharge or a military spouse whose spouse received a dishonorable discharge. 

Q. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a license issued and regulated under the 
authority of the judicial branch of government, to any person covered under the Nurse 
Licensure Compact, or to any person that obtains licensure or registration on a nationwide 
licensing or registry system. 

LSA-R.S. 37:3652. Professional and occupational licenses; renewal fees waived; educational 
requirements. 

A. A person who is performing or has performed service in the uniformed services, as 
provided in 10 U.S.C. 101, or the National Guard, as provided in 10 U.S.C. 311, or a 
military spouse who has relocated with their servicemember spouse assigned or ordered to 
active duty outside the United States and its territories and who has provided evidence of 
deployment or relocation to the professional or occupational licensing board prior to 
expiration of their license may be exempt from both of the following: 

(1) The payment of any reinstatement or licensing renewal fee required by any 
profession or occupation governed by this Title or by any other provision of law or 
ordinance during the servicemember’s period of service in the uniformed services. 

(2) Compliance with any continuing educational requirements applicable to such 
license during the servicemember’s period of service in the uniformed services. 

B. An exemption provided pursuant to Subsection A of this Section shall not apply to 
licensing or renewal fees or continuing educational requirements applicable to such license 
for the year in which the servicemember is released or discharged from active duty. 
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C. Any applicable license that is not subject to minimum licensing standards set forth in 
federal law or regulation shall continue in force and effect, provided that any applicable 
renewal fees are paid and any educational requirements are completed within one hundred 
eighty days of the servicemember’s release or discharge from active duty. For occupational 
licenses or registrations which are subject to minimum standards set forth by federal law 
or regulation, the professional or occupational licensing board may take any such action 
that may be available to maintain such licenses in an inactive or dormant status so that the 
servicemember or spouse may resume the licensed activity promptly upon satisfying 
applicable minimums standards. 

D. For the purposes of this Section, “professional or occupational licensing board” shall mean 
any state agency, board, commission, or substantially similar entity, involved in the 
licensing, certification, or registration of any regulated profession or occupation within the 
state of Louisiana. 

E. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to any license issued and regulated under the 
authority of the judicial branch of government. 
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