## TRAINING AND EMPLOYMENT NOTICE

NO. 11-13

DATE November 18, 2013

**TO:** ALL INDIAN AND NATIVE AMERICAN GRANTEES

**FROM:** ERIC M. SELEZNOW /s/

**Acting Assistant Secretary** 

**SUBJECT:** Native American Employment and Training Council Call for Nominations

1. <u>Purpose</u>. To request Workforce Investment Act (WIA) Section 166 grantees to submit nominations for appointment the Native American Employment and Training Council (NAETC) for consideration by Secretary of Labor Thomas Perez.

- **2. Reference**. WIA, Section 166 (h)(4) and 41 CFR §102-3.30 (c).
- 3. <u>Background</u>. The Council is a non-discretionary committee with the purpose of advising the Secretary on all aspects of the operation and administration of the WIA Section 166 program. This includes the selection of the individual appointed as the head of the unit established at the Department of Labor (the Department) by the Secretary to administer the Section 166 programs. The current NAETC Charter was renewed for two years, effective September 7, 2013. The charter provides for NAETC to be composed of no less than 15 members appointed by the Secretary pursuant to WIA Section 166 (h)(4)(B), who are representatives of the Indian tribes, tribal organizations, Alaska native entities, Indian-controlled organizations serving Indians, or Native Hawaiian organizations.
- 4. <u>Action</u>. The Secretary is seeking tribal nominations in the areas of business and entrepreneurship, economic development, secondary and post-secondary education, health care, and veteran services to join the Council and provide expertise on the WIA Indian and Native American Programs. The Secretary also is seeking representatives for each of the six regions: Regions I, Boston (includes CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PR, RI, and VT), Region II, Philadelphia (includes DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, and WV); Region III, Atlanta (includes AL, GA, FL KY, NC, SC, TN, and MS), Region IV, Dallas (includes AR, CO, LA, MT, ND, NM, OK, SD, TX, UT, and WY); Region V, Chicago (includes IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, and WI); Region VI, San Francisco (includes AK, AZ, CA, GU, HI, ID, NV, OR, and WA); and other representatives. Instructions on submitting recommendations follow in this section.

Appointments for the following 11 members will expire on January 4, 2014:

REGION I, BOSTON (includes CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PR, RI, and VT):

Mr. Darrell Waldron

REGION II, PHILADELPHIA (includes DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV):

Ms. G. Ann Richardson

REGION III, ATLANTA (includes KY, NC, TN, MS, AL, SC, GA, and FL):

Mr. Elkton Richardson

REGION IV, DALLAS (includes AR, CO, LA, MT, ND, NM, SD, TX, UT, and WY):

Dr. Rodney Strapp Ms. Kimberly Carroll

REGION V, CHICAGO (includes IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, and WI):

Ms. Christine Molle

REGION VI, SAN FRANCISCO (includes AK, AZ, CA, GU, HI, ID, NV, OR, and WA):

Ms. Lorenda Sanchez Ms. Julia Davis-Wheeler Ms. Roslyn Shirley

## OTHER DISCIPLINE:

Dr. David Yarlott Mr. Jacob Bernal

With reference to the Other Discipline memberships, the Federal Advisory Committee Act regulations at 41 C.F.R. §102-3.30(c) requires advisory committees to have a balanced membership in terms of the points of view represented and the functions to be performed. Factors to be considered in achieving such a membership depend upon several elements, including the vision and mission of the Secretary. Prospective nominees may represent various areas of expertise such as technical experts, education (including Tribal Colleges), health care, elected tribal leaders, economic development, business, or other sectors. Similar to other members of the Council, these individuals must be representative of Indian Tribes,

Tribal organizations, Alaska Native entities, Indian-controlled organizations serving Indians, or Native Hawaiian organizations. In nominating Other Discipline representatives, the factors described above must be considered.

Members shall serve at the pleasure of the Secretary for a two year term designated by the Secretary in writing. The Secretary may consider nominations for appointment to the NAETC as submitted by the grantee or tribal communities. All members listed above are eligible for nomination.

Section 166 grantees (including those designated as Public Law 102-477 representatives in Regions I, II, III, IV, V, and VI) may submit nominations for memberships in their areas only. The Department will accept nominations from all grantees to fill seats on the NAETC representing "Other Discipline" memberships. Indian tribes and Indian, Alaskan Native, and Native Hawaiian organizations that do not administer a Section 166 grant also may submit nominations. Public Law 102-477 grantees and tribal officials are eligible for appointment to the NAETC.

In submitting nominations, consider the availability of the nominee to attend and actively participate in NAETC meetings (a minimum of two meetings annually), serve on NAETC workgroups, and provide feedback to the grantee community. Members of the NAETC shall serve without compensation and shall be allowed travel expenses, including per diem in lieu of subsistence, as authorized by Section 166 (h)(4)(D)(ii) of WIA. Communication between NAETC member and his or her constituency is essential to the partnership between the Department and the Indian and Native American community.

The Division of Indian and Native American Programs will accept nominations electronically submitted to the Designated Federal Official (DFO), Evangeline M. Campbell, at <a href="mailto:campbell.evangeline@dol.gov">campbell.evangeline@dol.gov</a> or by fax at (202) 693-3817. A biography, resume, and acceptance form must be included in the nomination package. In addition, include the name and telephone number of the individual who is submitting the individual for nomination. This information may also be mailed to:

U.S. Department of Labor Indian and Native American Programs Employment and Training Administration 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Room S-4209 Washington, D.C. 20210

Attention: Mrs. Evangeline M. Campbell, DFO

Phone: (202) 693-3737

All nominations must be submitted (U.S. postmarked or electronically dated, e-mailed, faxed or by commercial carrier) no later than 31 calendar days, excluding any Federal holidays, from the date of this notice. Submit NAETC nominations on the attached form and include a signed acceptance form from the nominee.

- **5.** <u>Inquiries</u>. Inquiries should be directed to Evangeline M. Campbell, DFO, at (202) 693-3737.
- **6.** <u>Attachments</u>. Council Nomination Form Nomination Acceptance Form