Tuesday, November 30, 2021

VIA ELECTRONIC FILING

Office of Regulations and Interpretations Employee Benefits Security Administration Room N-5655 U.S. Department of Labor 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20210

Dear Acting Assistant Secretary Khawar,

We as members of the University of Notre Dame respectfully submit this letter in support of the Department's proposed rule, *Prudence and Loyalty in Selecting Plan Investments and Exercising Shareholder Rights* ("the Proposed Rule.")

The University of Notre Dame prides itself on its strong commitment to fight for those who are unjustly marginalized in our world. Currently, through Notre Dame's 403(b) retirement fund, approximately 95% of faculty and staff invest in a portfolio containing stock in CoreCivic and GEO Group, two corporations that dominate the privatized prison industry and profit directly off of human bodies. To act on the mission of Our Lady's University and Father Sorin's proclamation that the University be a powerful force for good in this world, we believe that Notre Dame must implement a socially-responsible investment (SRI) alternative for faculty and staff to invest in accordance with their values. We thank the Department for this important proposal, which would allow the University to do so and to fulfill its Catholic mission to protect the dignity of the human person.

Additionally, managers of retirement plans should have the capacity to consider all elements that could affect plan investments, and ESG risks are becoming an increasingly important factor in determining investment risk and return. The prior administration's 2020 rules prohibit ERISA plans from taking into account such factors in their investment selection and proxy voting, effectively exposing retirement savers to high risk investments and silencing their voices on important issues of human rights. The Proposed Rule would fix this.

We appreciate the Department's hard work in drafting this timely and thoughtful Proposed Rule.

Sincerely,

Elaine Carter, '22 Madeline Whitney, '22 Michael Hebbeler, Center for Social Concerns

Iseli Hernandez Admissions Recruiter, ESTEEM Graduate Program Jennifer Betz Assistant Director, International Peace Studies Concentration, Master of Global Affairs Degree Ricardo Martinez-Schuldt Assistant Professor Sonja Stojanovic Assistant Professor Juanita Pinzon-Caicedo Assistant Professor, Mathematics Christopher Liebtag Miller Assistant Professor, Medieval Institute Emily Wang Assistant Professor, Russian Danice Guzman Associate Director of Evidence and Learning, Pulte Institute for Global Development Kevin Fink Associate Director, Pulte Institute Claudia Francis Associate Director, Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy Karen Graubart Associate Professor Catherine Bolten Associate Professor, Anthropology and Peace Studies Sara L Maurer Associate Professor, English Katrina Barron Associate Professor, Mathematics Manoel Couder Associate Professor, Physics Cheryl Snay Asst. Professor of the Practice/Curator of European & American Art, Snite Museum Elizabeth Zapf Business Manager, Notre Dame Police Department Melissa Marley Bonnichsen Center for Social Concerns Center for Social Concerns, Department of Romance Languages and Literatures Rachel Parroquin Garrett FitzGerald Ethics, Politics, and Community Justice Fellow, Kroc Institute for Int'l Peace Studies John R. Dacey '73 Executive Director, Abolish Private Prisons Valerie Sayers Kenan Professor of English Emerita Rebecca Méndez Keough School of Global Affairs Patricia Blanchette McMahon Hank Professor of Philosophy Matt Heilman ND Student Government Interim Director of Gender Relations Michael Talbot Notre Dame Mexico Global Center Syeda (Fiana) Arbab Oxfam International IFI Policy Fellow Jeremy Fein Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences John Duffy Professor, English Jason A. Springs Professor, Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies Tom Purekal Program Director, Innovation and Practice, Pulte Institute Dania Straughan Program Manager, Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies Gretchen Andreasen Research Associate Elise Ditta Research Associate, Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies Hannelore Weber Retired Faculty Allan Njomo Student Body President, University of Notre Dame Matthew Bisner Student Body Vice President, University of Notre Dame Mahan Mirza Teaching Professor, Keough School of Global Affairs | Executive Director, Ansari Institute for Global Engagement with Religion Avery Broughton Undergraduate Student Government Director of the Department of Sustainability Mauna Dasari Katie Harmeyer Megan Keenan Kyle Dorshorst Aaron Hilliker Sarah Conley Sara Judy Marlena Muszynska Noah Bongiovanni Connor Martin Caroline Myers Benjamin FitzGerald Layton Hall Benjamin Gbash Lauren Bauman Duncan Donahue Catherine Prather James Venditto Zach Holland Kyle Moon Maria Camila Leon Farah Khashman Meaghan Lyons Bridget Kelley

Eleanor Wood

Marie Latham Caroline Bickerton Margaret McGreevy Thanh Nguyen Rory Jasper Matthew O'Connor Hailey Oppenlander Ian Horvath Clare Stoyell-Mulholland Caitlyn Krueger Charlotte Probst Matheo Vidal Alexia Zolenski Nathaniel Hiott Jessica Wolfert Caitlin Reed Robert J. Caruso Catherine Cernugel Kathryn Strimbu Aidee Barajas Joseph Jegier Emma Dudrick Alyssa Lee Martha Gluck Julaine Zenk Kiley Atkins Meghan McReynolds Lucrezia Phifer Sean Patrick Butler Margaret Elliott LeeAnne Williams Callie Whelan Carson Myers Caroline Lubbe Ava Downey Jordyn Platenburg Alex Ford Keith Ongeri Anna Medrano Joshua French Luzolo Matundu Theresa Azemar Meg Dalton Bridget Rose Alexandra Dosch Maria Esteve Eva Garces-Foley Anna Rask Meg Kelleher Connor Delaney Brittany Benninger Samuel De La Paz Camille Mosley Maria Teel Carly Barbera Kaitlyn Dehais Lillian Witte Emilia McManus Rachel Walsdorf Madeline Ward

Ashton Weber Meghan Bolinger Javier Rivera Gonzalez Stephen Koch Natalie Ortega Tristan Huo Ian Horvath Ben Scholl MacKenzie Isaac Casey Leimbach Liam Maher Madison Calder Colleen Bartlett Meilin Scanish Nicholas Mannion Phoenix Pedro Emily Lugg Abigail Hickey Neema Morris