----Original Message-----

From: Robert Rutkowski < r e rutkowski@att.net>

Sent: Tuesday, September 1, 2020 3:23 PM

To: Talk to DOL < TalktoDOL@dol.gov >; D'Aquino, Michael - OPA < DAquino.Michael@dol.gov >; Lucero,

Eric R - OPA < Lucero. Eric. R@DOL.gov>

Cc: Elizabeth Strimer@mcconnell.senate.gov; Dan <dan.meyer@mail.house.gov>; George

<george.kundanis@mail.house.gov>; rocint@schumer.senate.gov

Subject: DOL Proposes Allowing Big Investment Funds to Skip Shareholder Votes

Eugene Scalia
Secretary of Labor
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Ave NW
Washington, DC 20210
talktodol@dol.gov

D'Aquino, Michael - OPA daquino.michael@dol.gov

Eric Lucero lucero.eric.r@dol.gov

Re: DOL Proposes Allowing Big Investment Funds to Skip Shareholder Votes

Dear Secretary:

The U.S. Department of Labor on Monday issued a proposed rule that would allow major investment funds governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act to avoid shareholder votes if the outcome of the vote would not change the basic value of the company. The proposal marks a major departure from the Avon Letter, a 1988 directive by the Department of Labor during the George H.W. Bush administration, emphasizing the importance of voting by institutional stakeholders such as mutual funds.

The Avon letter is credited with spurring shareholder activism and greater corporate accountability. The newly proposed rule is open for comment for 30 days, a relatively brief period given the momentous nature of the change.

Trump's minions continue to tear at the already tissue thin lines of corporate accountability. Allowing mutual funds to pass on shareholder resolutions will set back grassroots investor efforts to confront climate change, political spending corruption, human capital degradation and more. This proposed rule must be withdrawn.

Yours sincerely, Robert E. Rutkowski

cc:

Representative Steny Hoyer House Majority Leader Legislative Correspondence Team 1705 Longworth House Office Building Washington DC 20515

Office: (202) 225-4131 Fax: (202) 225-4300

keith.abouchar@mail.house.gov

Senator Mitch McConnell Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Elizabeth_Strimer@mcconnell.senate.gov

Representative Kevin McCarthy Republican Majority Leader Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 dan.meyer@mail.house.gov

Speaker Nancy Pelosi Office of the Speaker H-232 The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 george.kundanis@mail.house.gov

Senator Chuck Schumer Senate Democratic Leader Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 rocint@schumer.senate.gov

2527 Faxon Court Topeka, Kansas 66605-2086 P/F: 1 785 379-9671

E-mail: r e rutkowski@att.net